Vintage hat, jewelry, gloves, and custom-made dress from Shangri-La Vintage (1952 W Roscoe St, Chicago, IL)

When I was in Chicago this past winter, I went shopping for a 1960s-inspired outfit. I literally spent two weeks watching Mad Men, so I felt adequately educated to style myself into a classy housewife. I started by looking for a nice hat. After trying on many, I found this creme pink feather Marshall Field’s hat. It was definitely a  splurge at $30 for something used and working on a grad student budget, but it was classy, fun, and definitely unique. The clip-on beaded earrings and glass pearl necklace were simple additions along with the classic white gloves. Now, the dress. Vintage shopping can be frustrating if you are anything over a size 2… I’m a size 6, and probably more like a size 8 in this photos because it was right out of winter… (polar vortex, ok!? I HAD order and eat those two pizzas everyday and wear those sweatpants!) Thus, I probably only had a handful of dresses to try on, and this particular blue and white china-print cotton custom-made dress was a couple sizes too big. With some alterations, it worked and even came with a cotton bolero/shrug (featured later)!

IMG_657013154404855_18d1235b02_oCurl your hair, put on some fake lashes, and smack some red on your lips, and there ya go…. You can be Betty Draper, too! 

love history and museums, so, obviously, I love old stuff… In high school, I liked shopping at thrift stores for old t-shirts. My mom thought it was gross, but with a thorough wash, I thought my t-shirts were pretty awesome. Halloween was always a time for me to dress up from a historical period. I tried Scarlett O’Hara’s red gown, but people thought I was a witch… I also tried flapper girl from the 1920s, but people thought I was still a witch.. Ok basically, that didn’t work out. However, nowadays there are awesome events where people know you’re dressing from a historical period.. you can attend to get that inner history nerd out of your system.. or at least give you a reason to go vintage shopping!

Disney in Anaheim, Orlando, or Paris almost every spring and fall: Dapper Day at Disney

NYC twice a summer: Governor’s Island Jazz Age Lawn Party

Chicago monthly events: Sugar and Poison Club (formerly Cake and Whiskey)

One thought on “Vintage Dress-Up

Leave a comment